Office of Development and Alumni Affairs

The Mallika Fellowships for Women in Science and Engineering have been established by Mrs. Nirmala Jay Pullur (IISc Alumna, M.E. (Electrical Communication Engineering) – 1996) to encourage highly talented women students to pursue careers in science and engineering. 

The Women in Science Fellowships are given to two of the incoming Under-Graduate (B.S. (Research)) students, while the Women in Engineering Fellowships are given to four students of various M.Tech. programs of the EECS division and the Department of Computational and Data Sciences (CDS).


Entitlements of the IISc-Mallika Women M.Tech. Fellowship

  • Enhanced fellowship of Rs. 24,800 per month for 24 months (Rs. 12,400 per month from IISc and Rs. 12,400 per month from the donor)
  • Travel cum contingency amount of Rs. 1,14,800 for international/national travel and other expenses to support research including buying a laptop.


Entitlements of Mallika Women in Science Fellowship

  • Monthly Scholarship: Rs 7,000/- for four years
  • Travel & Other Contingencies (Per Annum): Rs 28,000/-


The 2022 awardees 

IISc-Mallika Women M.Tech. Fellowship

Name of the Student M.Tech. Program
Ms. Reddy Vari Jyothsna  Electrical Engineering
Ms. Kandula Hema Siva Naga Lakshmi  Electrical Communications Engineering 
Ms. Maranani Varalakshmi Electrical Communications Engineering
Ms. Jagtap Siddhi Shrikant Sujata Computer Science and Automation 


Mallika Women in Science Fellowship

Name of the Student Program
Ms. Akte Isha Santosh Kumar Undergraduate (B.S. (Research))
Ms. Shreya Hirenbhai Pithva  Undergraduate (B.S. (Research))