IISc continues to benefit from generous contributions made by its numerous benefactors. The institute is extremely grateful to the various organizations, philanthropists and alumni who have wholeheartedly supported several initiatives promoting education and research. 

  • IISc receives its single largest private donation of INR 425 crore to help build an 800-bed multi-speciality hospital


Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Grants

In recent years, several corporates have partnered with IISc to implement CSR projects of immense social impact.



TCS Foundation    TCS Smart-X Hub
Hindustan Aeronautics Limited    HAL-IISc Skill Development Centre
Infosys Foundation    Infosys Visiting Chairs & Young Investigator positions
   Enhancing research & infrastructure for infectious diseases research
Citibank, N.A.    Funding of six start-ups incubated at the Society for Innovation and Development (SID)
HT Parekh Foundation    Dissemination & capacity building in low-carbon technologies
Rural Electrification Corporation    Solar power generation and LED lighting at IISc Bangalore campus
Garrett Motion    Research and education in high-temperature materials
   ConditionMonitoring of Legacy Machines (CPDM) & Automous Ground Vehicle (AGV) Telrobotics.
Tata Elxsi    M Tech AI Lab
SBI Cards    M Tech AI Lab
Bharat Dynamics Limited    Solar PV & CSP-based training and skill development at IISc Challakere
Cisco    PhD scholarships
Cisco    Centre for Networked Intelligence
Tata Motors Limited    PhD scholarships
Triveni Turbine    Research equipment in turbomachinery
Booking. Com    M. Tech scholarships for women students
Covidien    Research equipment in bioengineering
HP    Support for education
Sonata Software    Education, outreach and infrastructure development at CSA
GE India Technology Centre    National mathematics workshops
Accel Partners    CSA Research Endowment fund
L&T Technology Services    Teachers’ Training @ IISc Challakere
Broadcom India    Workshops and student support
Adventz Finance Private Limited    Young Investigator position
Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited     New women’s hostel block
Amazon Internet Services      A.I. research and education initiatives
Huawei Technologies India      Research & Training in Intelligent Data Analytics
L&T Technology Services      Women’s Hostel Block
Triveni Turbines     Development of Lab, ICER
Wells Fargo Intl. Solutions Pvt. Ltd.      Instructional Lab for CSA Department & Fellowship program for CDS M.Tech. Students
TIMKEN Engineering & Research India Pvt. Ltd.     Artificial Intelligence (AI) Lab for M.Tech. AI Program
GroupM Media India Pvt. Ltd.     Establishing AI Education Lab
Nokia Solutions and Networks     Center for Excellence in Networked Robotics
Citrix R & D India Pvt. Ltd.     Online Teaching Studios & Covid 19 Testing
Cap Gemini Technology Services India Ltd.     Accelerated Development of Covid19 Antibody Test
SBI Foundation      Mobile Molecular Diagnostics and Testing Lab and Project Praana
Sony India Software Centre     Fellowships for women M Tech students in Computing Sciences
Tata Consulting Engineers     Research Projects in ICER Laboratory and Protection and Monitoring Laboratory (PAM)
Wipro GE Healthcare Pvt Ltd     Computational and Data Sciences Collaborative Laboratory of Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and     Medical Imaging

Research/philanthropic grants


Microsoft Research India




Mindtree Limited

Google Asia Pacific Pte Ltd

Facebook Realty Labs


Tata Trusts

Grantham Foundation

Robert Bosch Foundation & Robert Bosch Business & Engineering Solutions

LRN Foundation

Pratibodh Foundation


Mrs. Susmita and Mr. Subroto Bagchi, and Mrs. Radha and Mr. NS Parthasarathy – Bagchi-Parthasarathy Hospital

Mr. Kris & Mrs. Sudha Gopalakrishnan

Ajit & Sarah Isaac

Mr. Arjun Divecha

Jindal Aluminium Group & Sitaram Jindal Foundation

Avra Labs (Dr. AV Rama Rao & Dr. Chandra Ramarao)

Late Mr. Krishna Kaikini

Mr. Sameer Bhat –  Gore Subraya Bhat Associate Professorship Chair 

Ms. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw

Mr. SV Narasaiah

Ms. Giruba Beulah SE

Mrs. Arundhati and Mr Deepak Das 


Mr. N Lakshmi Narayanan

Dr. Satya Nadham Atluri

Dr. Vijaya & Dr. Rajagopal Rao

Dr. Brij Seth

Mr. Murali Aravamudan

Dr. Gajanana Birur

Dr. Krishnan Nandabalan

Institute Gold Medals by Alumni

Dr. Madhukar Govindaraju and family

Professor Nuggehalli Narayana Memorial Lecture